WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone,
This is my first post here and I would really appreciate it if you guys could give me some advice on the following.
I'm about to buy my first 'real' watch and after a lot of contemplation, have settled on 2 choices. This is quite a big decision for me as the price range is really quite a reach, personally. Anyway, I have been considering 2 different watches. Both have a white/silver face with a brown leather strap.

1) IWC Spitfire Chronograph - Iw371702
2) Zenith El Primero Captain - 03211040001c498

My considerations are (in decreasing order):
1) Brand Reputation and Familiarity
2) Resale value
3) Movement accuracy
Of course, design is important as well but I have left that out as its pretty personal I guess.

Any comments? I'm really quite torn - I think the Zenith looks a tad nicer but its not a brand I've heard of before, actually (I'm really new at this). My dealer also tells me that the IWC's movement is very much inferior to the el primero's. Im being quoted roughly the same price for both watches.

Also, given my considerations (I'm looking for a nice dress watch which fulfills 1,2,3 and comes in a leather strap), would any of you have advice for other watches in the ~$5000 price range I should consider?

Thank you very much for your help and look forward to any replies!

·
Registered
304 Posts
From the style sticklers, you're going to hear that no chronograph is a proper "dress watch," so be warned. As far as a pure dress watch in that price range, I would personally go with a Jaeger Lecoultre Master Control. Jaeger is an elite brand, probably only behind the "big three", and arguably alongside them at this point.

Of the two, you're talking about two very highly respected brands. I assure you that Zenith is very respected in watch circles, although IWC as a brand is possibly a small notch above in that regard.