WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I think some people might be interested in my latest project. Its still ongoing development, but hardware-side everything is set and maybe someone will point out issues I had not thought of yet.

I wanted to source a HAQ movement for a unique watch assembly, but like many others just could not get my hands on one. Watch manufacturers seem to think this (really not very complicated) technology should be some holy knowledge. Welp, time to get the soldering iron out I guess.

The goal is to fit an existing quartz movement with new electronics that include thermocompensation that can be calibrated to 10 spy or better. The heart of the new circuit board is a low-power microcontroller, in this case a Texas Instruments MSP432 that comes with a 16-bit ADC for accurate temperature readings and is based on a Cortex M4 core which I have some experience with. Temperature is sensed with external platinum RTDs. Although sensitivity is not the best, their excellent long term stability really doesn't leave me any choice here.

"Host" movement is an ETA 955.612, since I need 3V Lithium.

With the choice of the µC comes one problem: available packages are rather large (except the 0.5 mm pitch BGA - but good luck finding an affordable PCB supplier for that). My first intention was, to replace the existing circuit board in the movement, but there is just not enough space to fit everything without sacrifices. Also resoldering the coil is a something I decided I want to avoid. So the solution is a second board mounted between the circuit and the battery holder. Only modification to the original circuit is cutting the coil traces and soldering two tiny wires instead to connect to the addon board. This adds a total of about 2mm to the movement height, but since I like divers and similar bulky cases this doesnt bother me so much.