WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy watchmaking gurus,

First post here so apologies in advance if this is the wrong forum, but I was hoping to get feedback from folks well versed in the technical aspects of movement architecture and timing instruments. FYI, my background is in Statistics, not watchmaking. I'm good with numbers, but not terribly well versed on the watch mechanics that give rise to them. To that end, I need some help troubleshooting a newly purchased Tissot Powermatic 80 that I'm planning to add to my timing study.

Put simply, I believe the watch is possessed. I've timed over two dozen movements (occasionally with casebacks removed, but usually fully encased) and I've never seen anything like this. Using the ubiqiutous "Ace Timer" (WeiShi 1000) with sampling interval of 12 seconds and lift angle set to 50 (p80 is just a 3Hz 2824 derivative). Every Swiss watch I've timed (over half a dozen so far) cuts almost perfectly clean lines on the beat trace--either a "single" trace (beat error of 0) or fairly closely spaced "train tracks" (error in the .1 to .4 range). They're also remarkably stable across all six timing positions, with an average root mean square of just three seconds (deltas in the 2-10 second range).

This Powermatic, by contrast...well, just look at it!

1.jpg

My fondness for 4th of July fireworks notwithstanding, just what going on here? I've got Seiko 5s and throwaway tongjis that have far cleaner traces than this. And it gets worse:

2.jpg

Highest beat error I've seen since strapping my great grandfather's 1899 Elgin pocketwatch on the timer. And the beat is so erratic that the daily rate avg is literally switching signs (negative to positive and vice versa)

3.jpg

Sometimes the trace looks mostly clean (beat error only 0.1), but there's this "shadow trace" way off the distance, as you can see faintly in the photo above.

4.jpg