WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have tried to educate myself about some of the basics, but I am still a newbie with watches, so please bear with me. :D I am hoping to find an affordable skeleton watch that isn't going to be complete junk, which I know is a tall order for <$200. I know I'll most likely have to accept a chinese mechanism at this price-point, but I am hoping to find a brand/model that is at least somewhat reliable and won't break if I look at it wrong. I need something to wear for a year or two, and then I can upgrade to a better watch (shooting for $1000-$2000). I'd really like to avoid a Mushroom Brand, but if there are no decent options at this price-point, I'll probably just buy a junker $25 and save up for a better watch.

So far I have found the following watches who's design I like, though I'm not sure about the quality of the build.

1278389180737_hz-cnmyalibaba-web4_29030.jpg
Sea-Gull M182SK (found @ $135, not sure if seller is reputable)
It seems to have a decent reputation, but I thought I'd ask in comparison to my other options.

210382618.jpg
Stuhrling Original 107.33151 Delphi (found $115 @Amazon)

GW-KC1514.jpg
Kenneth Cole KC1514 (found $73 @Amazon)

Mysterious-Kenneth-Cole-KC1631-Skeleton-Automatic.jpg
Kenneth Cole KC1631 (found $88 @Amazon)

A1384_th.jpg
Aeromatic 1912 Semi-Skeleton Watch ($159 @Amazon). I really like this look, but I'm concerned about the brand quality.

I also poked around Orient's options. I know they have a semi-skeleton that isn't bad, I think I saw a thread on here where they can be had for $165-$195. I like the look of the above watches better, but I've heard Orient makes a decent watch.

Any of these worthwhile? Other recommendations?

·
Registered
190 Posts