WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, recently i found this golden watch belonged to my grand grand father or grand grand grand father, anyway I have no experience it this matter and I am searching for more info about origin and some kind of evaluation. I searched the internet but didn't found a watch similar to
this one. Any help is appriciated.

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
It looks like a pretty modern production pocket-watch. If I recall, non-magnetic watches didn't come in until the 1940s or something. My guess would be (and this is a guess and nothing else) that it's from the 50s at the earliest.

If you can get the caseback off (and I think this one just unscrews) and photograph the movement and the inside of the caseback, we may be able to tell you if the watch is solid gold or gold-filled and what quality of movement it has.

We don't give any evaluations here, sorry. It's not easy to evaluate watches based purely on photographs, which is why this site doesn't do it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I managed to open it

It looks like a pretty modern production pocket-watch. If I recall, non-magnetic watches didn't come in until the 1940s or something. My guess would be (and this is a guess and nothing else) that it's from the 50s at the earliest.

If you can get the caseback off (and I think this one just unscrews) and photograph the movement and the inside of the caseback, we may be able to tell you if the watch is solid gold or gold-filled and what quality of movement it has.

We don't give any evaluations here, sorry. It's not easy to evaluate watches based purely on photographs, which is why this site doesn't do it.

Look what I found inside:

·
Registered
1,037 Posts
Typical art-deco style watch.It was rather known brand in 1930s and 1940s.I'm proud owner of one rectangular art-deco "Election" wrist watch myself.

Regards!

·
Registered
5,315 Posts