WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
After a few years at my current job, I've decided to upgrade my current watch. I've decided on a Jaeger LeCoultre Master Control. Obviously, I'd like to pay less than full retail at an Authorized Dealer. I've looked at some online gray market sellers and I think I've found a few with good reputations. I've also looked at the possibility of buying a used Master Control from personal collectors. I've found a few examples on sites like eBay. It seems buying the watch out of someone's personal collection would net the biggest savings but I'm a little hesitant as this purchase will be the first "expensive" watch I've bought on my own. (my current watch was given to when I graduated from college)

My questions are thus:
1. What should I ask from the seller (personal collector and/or gray market internet seller) to verify authenticity? Serial number good enough or do I need to ask for more?
2. Once I make the purchase, should I have the watch opened to examine serials numbers, etc.?
3. Am I just asking for trouble by going through online auctions sites like eBay? They often have the best deals on used JLCs but I'm well aware of the old adage, "if it's too good to be true..."
4. What red flags should I be on the lookout for to avoid getting screwed?

I've saved enough to buy the watch at full retail, and ultimately if I can't be assured of getting an authentic watch, I'd go with the AD. However, from reading watch forum posts, I get the impressions that only those who don't know any better pay full retail. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
27,211 Posts