WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm not a watch expert by any means - my daily watch was an old Seiko 5 and I have a Seamaster for dressier occasions. Other than that, I don't know much about watches, so please bear with me: I bought my first Hamilton, a Khaki Navy Sub (auto), and it was shipped to my office last Thursday. Everything looked good, with good packaging (as far as I can tell), and all the protective plastic in the right place. I had a watchmaker adjust the links for $10, and I go about my merry way. Tonight, driving out to dinner, I felt something loose and heard a claspy noise. At a traffic light, I looked at my watch, and *gasp* to my surprise, the case-back is detached from the watch and rattling in between the space between that and my wrist. Naturally, I'm now in "gentle mode" (and pulled off into a parking lot), I press my fingers on the case-back to the watch, take off the watch, and begin to reposition and turn it clockwise to screw it back on. I don't have the tools, so all I did was hand tighten it as much as I could.

SO ... is this normal? I'm somewhat disappointed with Hamilton - the watch wasn't that expensive (bought via the last sale) at a few hundred bucks, but I wouldn't expect the case-back to fall off with normal use ... newly shipped as well. I'm an office worker so nothing hard on the watch, but most importantly I've only had it for a few days! Why wouldn't the case be screwed on tight and I shudder to think what would've happened if I went swimming and it came off? :-(