WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I joined a few months back but haven't yet posted. It's a rainy day here on my vacation in the woods of western Michigan, so I'm indoors, perusing Russian watch info online. What else is new? I figured this would be a good time to say hi.

A little about me:
My name is Matt and I am a hobbyist / modder / collector with a relatively serious Russian watch problem. I bought my first Vostok in Dresden on October 3, 1990. I can remember the date because it was reunification day in Germany. I was traveling with a band and we had played Dresden the night before. We had the day off and I was walking around the city, thinking how cool it was that just yesterday, this was the DDR, now it's... just Germany. I happened upon an old office building converted into a makeshift flea market. Inside, the small offices were filled with stuff for sale spread out on the desks and tables. Everything was for sale. Dehydrated potato flakes and evaporated milk to Soviet MIG parts. I recall the office furniture was for sale as well. It was as if some government bureau had just abandoned the place and the newly unemployed employees figured, well, let's sell stuff. I spotted a table of interesting Soviet memorabilia. I pointed to the Komandirskie with the cool tank on it. I think it was 5 DM, so I bought it and wore it for years. It still runs, to this day!