WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new to the world of watches, so please forgive me if I'm not using the proper words to describe what I'm looking for. I'll do my best to provide pictures to try and convey my thoughts.

Is anyone aware of a manufacturer of thin watch cases? When I use the word "thin", I'm talking about the thickness of the case's wall, kind of like these:

I can find them used with no problem. The only problem with that is that they typically come with lots of scratches (nothing wrong with that; it's just not right for what I'm doing right now).

And to go along with that, I'm looking for the "bubbled" glass/crystal. I've checked ofrei for the case-type listed above, but the site seemed to carry the thicker, bulkier cases. If no one makes any of these types anymore, that's fine, and I'll get some used watches and cobble things together. I was just curious. Here's an example of the crystal-type I'm looking for.

I don't feel that it's proper for me to be posting these kinds of questions on this forum. Is there somewhere that general questions like this are typically posted?

Thanks!

·
Registered
Speedmaster coaxial on Forstner Komfit
2,045 Posts
It sounds like you want a case with a thin bezel. I.e. it doesn't necessarily have to be the smallest possible case for a given movement, but you want the dial to be as large as possible for a given case diameter.
Do you know which movement you want to use? I'd start there and then see what cases are available for that.

Polishing a used case and crystal might be the most cost-effective approach.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
LCheapo said:
It sounds like you want a case with a thin bezel. I.e. it doesn't necessarily have to be the smallest possible case for a given movement, but you want the dial to be as large as possible for a given case diameter.