WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends,
Been looking around the forum for a while now but haven't had the chance to introduce myself.
Watches have interested me since I was a kid -- my dad always told me that men need good shoes and a good watch -- but only recently have been able to acquire pieces myself, for myself. I am most fascinated by vintage pieces -- especially border-line dress watches with interesting dials, and military-issue guys. I've also grown to like some modern pieces -- especially Ball watches -- for better reliability (?) and a certain hefty quality that is reassuring.

I hope to contribute to the community as much as I can. I am a graduate student in New York, so if you're ever around and want to chat watches / see my pieces / talk (+drink) craft beer, let me know!

Best,
Mark

·
Registered
8,540 Posts
Welcome Mark.

When I'm in NY, I usually split my time between Hudson Heights and the Village. Lived here on and off (I travel a lot) going on 6 years now.

"He's just a witness"

·
Registered
1,565 Posts
Hey Mark, welcome!

I'm NYC too, either on the UES or SoHo for work. Some really cool places around the city to check out vintage watches. I just participated in a NYC GTG last weekend, but I would love to do another one really soon.

·
Registered
9,884 Posts
A long way from NYC 99% of the time, but welcome none the less!

·
Registered
4,248 Posts
My wife and I are foodies. Different restaurants from Soho n the Village to random places around NYC. If my Grand Seiko gets a compliment or acknowledgement it is an automatic drink on me! Literally. The drink will be on me from a surprised jerk reaction of confusion and awe that someone knows what a GS is out in public the drink will be spilled on me. Then when I get back from the restroom after cleaning myself up from the spill I will buy us both new drinks.

·
Registered
31 Posts