WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am somewhat new to watch collecting and I have found I have expensive taster. Currently in my little collection I have the following;

Movado Museum quartz
Seiko Orange Monster second generation
Seiko titanium perpetual calendar quartz
Casio G shock

I bought the Movado as a dress watch and I love it. I am always getting compliments on it. I like the Movado Datron with the white face and also the Seiko Tuna in either quartz or the Emperor Tuna Auto. From a lot of reading I get the sensation that you are better off buying an Automatic I instead of Quartz?

What is the opinion of the Movado Datron?

Billy

·
Registered
2,499 Posts
Hi Billy,
welcome to the forum,

are you talking about the vintage Movado Datron with the Zenith El Primero movement?
love that watch, just an awesome watch

not too knowledgeable about the new model, but Movado does make good quality watches, their Museum series is definitely a classic, one of the more recognizable watch out there,

buying automatic or quartz ... bottom line, that really depends on you,
I'm not going to say one is better than the other ... I do have my preference, but it depends on you and what you think is better for you

·
Registered
Unabashed Casio G-Shock fanboy
8,069 Posts
Most folks prefer mechanical watches. Some prefer quartz. I like both. I have a 015 quartz Tuna. Its quartz movement isn't your run-of-the-mill mall quartz. It's a seven jeweled movement designed by Seiko for use in adverse environments. Interesting thread on the Seiko Tuna's movement: https://www.watchuseek.com/f21/what-makes-7c46-superior-movement-439547.html

I also like the Tudor Pelagos a lot, but it has a common ETA movement. There are Grand Seiko's with super accurate quartz movements.