WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I am an amateur watch enthusiast looking for my first luxury watch. I have been shopping around and spotted two very nice watches. Actually this is going to be an engagement gift from my girlfriend :)

Longines L2.6664.78.3
index.jpg

Baume et Mercier Classima 8688
8688_front.JPG

We are more inclined to the B&M but I would like to have an honest opinion from an expert :)

Thanks!

·
Registered
838 Posts
Hi mate,

Firstly, congrats on the engagement!

As for which (of the two), I prefer the Longines. I'm not a huge fan of 'open heart' dials -especially on such an otherwise dressy watch as that B&M. If it was a non open heart, there are quite a few B&M's that I quite like. Their Clifton line in particular is very much worth a look. I'm not familiar with either brands specific price points so that's up to you. I'd also suggest Frederique Constant which has pieces that occupy the look that these two have.

Good luck!

Reactions: hanzo

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys! how do you place Frederique Constant with respect to B&M and Longines ? these three brands seem to fit the budget. Everyone told me that the B&M is more of a "high end" watch then the longines so im getting some mixed opinions now!

·
Registered
2,580 Posts
I love power reserve indicators. Also the open heart on the baume just doesnt do it for me. It doesnt seem as interesting as many other open heart models.

But whats your budget? maybe we can make a few suggestions?

·
Registered
838 Posts
Thanks guys! how do you place Frederique Constant with respect to B&M and Longines ? these three brands seem to fit the budget. Everyone told me that the B&M is more of a "high end" watch then the longines so im getting some mixed opinions now!