WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I like Dracha's Breitling post in another thread, and it inspired me to say a few words about why I like Breitling. Although I'm new to Breitling, I've owned or handled about every WIS brand out there, and some in depth. Why I like Breitlings:

So far I have a Super Avenger, a Navitimer Heritage, and two Bentleys, and here are my impressions so far.

==More people have commented on my watches while I wear Breitling than any other brand I've ever owned - even in this short time. And I've owned about every major brand other than AP and PP. I'd be way dishonest to say that I don't get a kick out of someone liking my watch!

==My Breitlings have been pretty accurate so far, at least as good as any other brand in general, and better than many, regardless of price-point.

==Breitling makes large watches, and I'm often in the mood for big.

==And not just big inert hockey pucks that look hideous or ice-only or that you have to baby. But tough, working watches. E.g., a good cross between big and classy is the Bentley. A good cross between big, tough, and useful in all kinds of conditions is the Super Avenger. A good cross between big and unique is the Emergency.

==The Navitimer is a visual, historical and horological icon, like Submariners or Moonwatches.

==The bracelets are very comfortable and well-machined. There are watch bracelets out there which are heavier, more solid and substantial *looking* - BUT they pull hair, or they have sharp edges and corners which dig into the wrist, or their stiffness causes the clasps or pins come loose.

==The machining of the case, the polish, the angles, the edges, the printing on the dials and slide rules is all very precise and good. AFAIK it meets or exceeds other brands even above the same price-point.