WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In January 2019, I sent my watch for service, which took three months for the service team to complete. It was in because the Omega service team improperly serviced it during summer 2018, resulting in water inside, due not to my negligence, but to the service personnel at Omega not sealing the watch. I just received the watch and there is condensation under the crystal again, after washing hands. I am furious. I am in summer fieldwork season (I am a scientist working in the marine Arctic), with a watch that I cannot read.

Is it common for Omega service to be incompetent? What recourse can I have?Can I ask them to replace the whole watch? Everything inside must now be compromised from moisture.

Attachments

·
G-Shock Mod
14,271 Posts
Dang, that's a disappointment. I hope Omega would make it right for you. May I ask which Omega Service Center was handling your watch?

·
Registered
6,854 Posts
I understand that you haven’t exactly gone swimming with this thing but they are not known for water resistance.

·
Registered
2,017 Posts
I hope that they do, too. It was "serviced" in New Jersey.

Has anyone else had Omega fail more than once?
'my' omega centre is now around.. 17 failures in, not one success,
they never stopped failing, I simply took the watches from their hands,
not all mine but hand delivered by me.
I'm in Europe and have no idea about the New Jersey service centre, but my advice from that history is to take it somewhere else if at all possible to repair by now.

omega has good service centres, and people who'll do right by you, but, from my experience, both personal and 3rd person,
those who aren't will just keep destroying your watch till you give up

·
Registered
591 Posts