WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,
I started a discussion about Rolex owners who converted to Omega and things escalated quickly and I found myself a proud owner of a Speedmaster.

I have to say, a Speedmaster was a watch I always liked but never thought I would own.
as a pilot, I have always had a soft part in my heart for Chronos.
I went trying on many many Omegas and while I couldn’t imagine spending a lot of money for a Seamaster because the bezel was just HORRIBLE coming from a submariner. The Planet ocean was very nice but oh wow, the thickness is just, wow. Too much.
The aqua terras were absolutely gorgeous and I can see myself owning one, but when you have a speedmaster in the table... oh wow! Honestly, I was surprised as to how good it looks in person. Absolutely gorgeous. Can’t say that getting 15% off didn’t help (you’d be lucky to buy a DateJusts from a rolex AD, let alone get 15% off).
Anyway, the rest is history, I went with the sapphire sandwich because I plan to take my speedy absolutely anywhere and don’t have the patience to polish the hesalite once in awhile. The movement is very very nice, but mine runs at approximately +10 per day. Is it normal?

While I can’t state enough how gorgeous the speedy is, I am still undecided if I prefer the subdials to be in the same color as the dial or in a different color (like panda dials for example).
What do you guys think and prefer?

Here are some pictures of the new baby:

Attachments

·
Registered
6,754 Posts
Congrats on the new piece! It looks beautiful on your wrist. I like the original dial, so unless for the sake of having a LE, sub-dials being the same color is perfect for me. The accuracy may settle down, though I'm personally fine with +10 spd. And I'm also thinking about adding the sapphire sandwich to the collection in the next year or so, but will probably try for the 3861/3863.

·
Registered
66 Posts