WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just joined the forum so.. hi!

A few months ago I picked up a copy of QP magazine and have since been rapidly gaining an interest in watches (after buying and trying to figure out how my Waltham pocket watch works). I'm now looking into buying my first mechanical wristwatch. Being a physics grad I like to know how something works, I work in the finance industry and am really over-obsessed with my purchase being an investment (I'm very bad at buying something with the prospect that it may not be worth as much should I possibly ever have to sell it), I'm also a part time artist who appreciates aesthetics. Given all these factors I would like be grateful opinions on the following and suggestions of alternatives:

IWC: I wanted the Antoine De Saint Exupery but apparently they sold out before I got a chance to get one, so the Spitfire Chrono-automatic goes on the list. Would I be correct in saying that it is manufacture? I think so, even so is it worth over £1000 /$1950 more than..

Wempe: The Zeitmeister Chronometer. The design appeals to me, it's something I could wear every day. But is the movement any good? The only view I've seen on Valjoux movements was the 7750 (as opposed to the 7753 in this watch) seemed to indicate that it was a bit of a workhorse i.e. nothing special. But is is worth over £800 /$1560 more than..

Nomos: pretty much almost all of the designs I have seen look basic with relatively small faces, but none the less interesting in their simplicity. I understand that some of these the entire movement is in house. Or should I..

Buy one of the orange Hamiltons and forget about even trying to understand the values that are put on watches?

Please throw as much info my way on this as poss.. I'm enjoying finding out about my new hobby!

Thanks
Luke

·
Registered
2,347 Posts
Luke,