WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,930 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone!!

I finally got in my Orient Quartz Diver. This will be a short review as I have only received it today. Also, as a side note, since I am new to watches I will be making my comparisons to my Seiko 5's.

When I opened my package I noticed that it was covered with a blue plastic, something the Seiko's did not have. Second, the face is larger than my Seiko's and to my suprise the Orient was taller/thicker. But weight wise it is about the same. The bezel on the Orient feels very solid with solid clicks. The Lume is awesome, puts the Seiko's to shame IMO. The band is solid SS, as compared to folded metal in the Seiko 5 links. As a side note I feel I will enjoy the larger watch, it is a "look at me" kind of watch. The clasp is not as good as the seikos, but it does have the diver suit extention. As for accuracy, I cannot compare, as the Seiko have the 7s26 mvt, while the Orient is an in-house Quartz. Water resistance will have to be noted later but with the screw down crown and case back it should be fine for a desk diver. Lastly, when adjusting the time/date the crown movement felt smoother and a little easier to move. In short, the Orient feels and looks nicer than the Seiko, and the Orient I feel is a steal at $80 shipped. The pictures I attached are from the seller born2watch and are his property.

Attachments

·
5,138 Posts
Welcome to the Orient club!

Thanks for the review and comparison. I'm betting it won't be your only Orient for very long!;-)

·
Registered
4,930 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, I am already eyeing a silver auto Orient diver. I know my review isn't terribily in depth but I hope I can convince people to give Orient an honest look.

·
Registered
13,407 Posts
Well done Nick.
Looks like a solid watch for sure.
Thanks for posting up your review!

·
Registered
4,930 Posts
Discussion Starter #6