WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all! I'm new to watches and recently picked up a blue mako to start my collection. Without hesitation I absolutely love the watch!

I'm aware it's a good watch that should last a while, but I was wondering how durable is this sucker. I sometimes find myself on a construction site for work and am wondering if I should just leave the watch at home on certain days... Timex used to say they could take a licken and keep on ticken...

Does anyone here have experience giving their orient some abuse? How'd it hold up? What model? What was the abuse? White water rafting? Mudding? Yard work in the dirt? Just playing with kids in the lake? I'd appreciate any stories and experiences putting your orient through the ringer and how it did ( or did not do). I love a good pic too. Thanks!

Reactions: Ponder

·
Registered
299 Posts
While a very nice watch it's is a bit of a sissy. I dropped mine from about 3 feet into a sand (with some small pebbles in it). The result isn't very encouraging:
- 3 or 4 easy noticable dents on the glass
- 2 scratches on the bezel
The mechanism seems to be 100% fine though.

·
Registered
1,202 Posts
Keep in mind that a mechanical watch is not build to take "abuse"...

·
Registered
445 Posts
No mechanical watch is really suited for rough environments. That's all quartz/digital territory.

If you are looking for the most suitable option in Orient's arsenal, I can recommend the M-Force models: M-FORCE | ORIENT Automatic
Just be sure that regardless of the movement, you go for sapphire glass (mineral glass tends to scratch relatively easily).

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys.. I was really just curious about how much durability this mako really has and figured the best way to find out would be to ask for some stories. I guess I'll play it safe and get a quartz beater for field days on the job.... Thanks again!

·
Premium Member