WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I'm thinking of buying my first watch. As said, I have close to zero experience on watches and would like some feedback on this matter.I am thinking to buy a used vintage Oris watch for US112.38 . Since I am new to watches and such, I would prefer advise on this particular brand and any reviews? I cant find similar watch on google. Is this an authentic Oris watch? what do you guys think of this particular model? It is said to be self winding (automatic?). Also, what movement does it use? Any feedback is highly appreciated.

. IMG_2390.JPG IMG_2391.JPG IMG_2392.JPG

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
really? Don't have such experience in watches. Can't differentiate real from fake brands. Thanks for the clarification tho !

·
Registered
944 Posts
I'd be dubious of that dial. The pic is not quite large enough to be sure but it looks newly printed. Also, it would be more common for an automatic to have something to that effect printed on the dial.

I'd want to see larger pics of the dial and also a pic of the movement.

·
Registered
1,525 Posts
If it looks too good to be true then it probably is! That dial looks like it was painted last week by someone who likes to use all the colours, it will have an FHF movement inside, the fakers favourite. There are many of these fantasy pieces on ebay, I would say hundreds, along with fake Titonis, Tissot and Fortis. Spend a few hours browsing through there to sharpen up your ******** detector!

I posted this recently, it may help - http://forums.watchuseek.com/f11/rogues-gallery-3991202.html#post38233082

·
Registered
208 Posts
The case is probably real, but the dial and hands are totally fake. There might be an ORIS movement in there, but you'd need to open it up to be sure.

I'd pass on it.

·
Registered
3,116 Posts