WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I am a novice when it comes to Panerai. I was very interested in the 88 until I went to a very reputable dealer. Now the guy can easily push me to a more expensive watch yet he strongly suggests the 111. He tells me that the 111 is much more "representative" of the brand than many of the models with complications and even the automatics.
QUESTION: Anyone Agree?
QUESTION: The 111 is the base model with a 48 hour power reserve manual wind, SS W/Second hand correct?
QUESTION: What are the differences between the 111 and the 005? Is the 005 an auto?
QUESTION: I can pick up this watch at $4400 and also establish a good relationship with one of the best dealers in high end watches in my area. But at that price I can purchase a brand new model on the net. Whats the smart buy?

Its not a chain jewelry store, he is a certified Rolex tech and works on Pateks on a regular basis. In fact today he was assisting a client with a $125,000 Patek. I would like to hold out for a J series witrh the push button strap release but buying from this dealer offers perks like free polishing, free strap changes, etc. so buying from him does have advantages.

·
4,071 Posts
I would agree that the "Historic" line is much more in line with the spirit/heritage of Panerai.

What series is the 111 that your dealer is trying to sell you? Why would like to hold out for a J series? To my knowledge, none of the Historic line will be offered with the new strap change system. Although, I could be wrong on that point.

Having said all that, buy the watch that you like. Don't buy something that someone else thinks you *should* buy.

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #3