WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does this watch look authentic? Could it actually be from 1894? I am new to Pateks and trying to learn as much as possible.

Thank you in advance for your time.

! image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg

·
Registered
467 Posts
It could be from that vintage, but I'm not a patek expert.... The wrist watch gained popularity during wwi. Often times the lugs were soldered on to a pocket watch as looks to be the case here.

·
Banned
10,075 Posts
To my "quick and dirty" glance at the photos, the movement doesn't appear to be a PP one. Why? Well, for one thing, it doesn't seem to say "Patek Philippe & Co. Geneve" anywhere on it. I think too that PP typically used a print rather than cursive font in engraving their name on a bridge of the movement.

The pics above are from here: https://www.1stdibs.com/creators/patek-philippe-and-co/jewelry/watches/pocket-watches/ .

It is possible that the piece does have authentic PP elements, however. The dial could indeed be an authentic PP one as might be parts of the case. Strangely, however, there appears to be no watchmaker's engraved info on the inside of the caseback. That's highly unusual for a case purporting to be from 1894, unless the caseback were replaced, but replacing a caseback, though not impossible or 100% improbable, is very uncommon in the course of repairing watches as the caseback consists of no moving parts and would have to have been very, very badly damaged to have needed replacing.