WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have you done it before? Would you recommend it? My main concern is buying a fake or something without a serial number. I really want the watch to come with the serial number intact, what are the chances of that? I'm looking towards buying a Seiko or something around there.

I'm new to watches so if there's anything I'm missing from buying off Amazon I should know please let me know anything.

·
Banned
417 Posts
Anything "shipped from and sold by Amazon" is safe.

I believe Amazon is an authorized dealer of Seiko, Citizen, Orient, Timex.

Any Tag Heuer you buy from them will have the serial number removed, and the warranty is offered through Amazon, not Tag. So a bit of a PITA there.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10,698 Posts
I have purchased off of Amazon with good results on watches and many other items. Read the fine print. I believe you are protected from "fake" items by Amazon. You can always pay with a credit card, which gives you the ability to cancel the payment later if you are shipped a fake.

·
Registered
6,462 Posts
Any Tag Heuer you buy from them will have the serial number removed, and the warranty is offered through Amazon, not Tag. So a bit of a PITA there.
Over half-a-dozen Tag purchases on Amazon (me and other people), I've never seen this happen. I mean, it's always the Amazion warranty (which, frankly, it better than Tag's anyway), but I've never seen a removed serial number on any watch from Amazon. Is this something that consistently happens to people with purchases that are actually from Amazon itself?

·
Registered
2,688 Posts
The days of removed serial numbers are a thing of the past. That's what grey market dealers did years back. Really not a common practice any more.

Sent from my XT907 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
I recently purchased a Tag that was shipped and sold from amazon and did have the serial number.