WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
307 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been lusting after my grail watch, the omega Aqua terra sky fall blue, specifically the mechanical version. However, if I'm being honest with myself, it will likely be many years, if ever, until I have anything close to the free capital to buy it. Even if I could, I doubt I could stomach the concept of spending the cost of a nice new (and at least for me) upscale watch every 5 years to service it, let alone try to sell that concept to my wife.
What I could do, conceptually, would be to find the quartz version for a decent price used, which would (if I understand things correctly) only need servicing if it broke down. However I have trouble with this option for a few reasons.
1) as a mechanical engineer, I have a much easier time appreciating the mechanical watches than the quartz ones (not saying I can't, I have a wonderful quartz longines, just not quite as crazy about Quartz)
2) at this point I'm neither a watch noob nor an expert, so I've spent the past couple months looking down my nose at any non-HAQ (non grand seiko) quartz watches.
3) I just don't know that much about Quartz movements, especially whether any particular workmanship goes into them

Please help me understand. Is there anything at all special about an Omega quartz watch over say, a Casio (or no name dollar store) watch? Is most of the quality of a watch in the movement? Is there really enough in the casing/ crystal/ dial/ details to justify this price? I LOVE the look of the watch, but if it's just that, both sea gull and ball have homages to this, ball's being particularly nice.

In short, can people help my understand and appreciate the world of upscale watches outside the movement, as well as the world of quartz watches?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
8,152 Posts