WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
on a local forum, there's someone selling a Zenith Elite. But before I dive in (the watch looks stunning by the way), i wanted to read up first on the Brand and its movement... But after doing a google search on the Cal 680, i came up with zero...

first time to visit this side of the forum so there's much to back read about. any feedback on this model? it's movement? Hope you guys can point me in the right direction...

thanks in advance! ;-)

·
Zenith Forum Co-moderator
19,172 Posts
As far as the Cal. 680 goes, it's the automatic one with small second at 9:00, date and no other complications. As for reliability, I have no first hand experience but haven't heard anything excessive in the way of complaints. Others please chime in!

Hartmut Richter

·
Registered
7,751 Posts
I've owned 2 watches with the cal. 680 (currently one). Both have been very stable timekeepers (within COSC specs), slight variation w.r.t. position and state of wind.

As Hartmut mentions, it has a "small seconds" subdial at '9' and the date display at '3'. Most models have a trapezoidal-shaped date window which is aesthetically pleasing (IMO).

The movement is attractive to look at (and thin - just 3.28mm!). I also like the quickset date function, in which the crown both retards and advances the date (in most watches you can only advance the date). The rotor is pretty noisy (even though it is a bi-directional winder), but I like the sound - it is very reassuring. No problems thus far, it gets full marks for a slim dress watch from me!

·
Registered
219 Posts
This is a very nice watch, and one of the most accurate in my collection. It is thin and very conservative and stunning. While the face is black, because of the coating on the crystal, it has a blue hue to it, and so I fit it with a Watch Boys dark blue leather band and double-fold clasp. I thought you might appreciete these photograps: