WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

real or fake?

• Total voters
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12,377 Posts
Could be the lighting but the redness to the eyes looks off and also possible lighting, the resin looks more plastic shiny.

But, the 100 has been one of the most popular to counterfeit recently.

Sent from Capt Kirk's Communicator

·
Premium Member
3,240 Posts
There is a model in this colourway, GA-100B7AER.

If it's fake it's a good one, one thing that points to it being genuine for me is the speed hand is in the correct position, fakes seem to always have it at 12 o'clock, (picture below of a fake one).

Like Wit says, there seems to be something not quite right with it, but it might be light in the photo.

Any more photos of it, especially the caseback?

Sent from my P027 using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
61,592 Posts
Regular readers will know I'm not very good at spotting fakes but I decided that the plastic looks a bit "bright" so it could be a pretend one based on this (you watch, it'll turn out to be genuine)

·
Registered
1,829 Posts
The buttons/pushers on the real ones are recessed... fake ones have pushers/buttons that protrude or line up with the bezel.

The screw placement on the caseback of the fakes are also an indicator

·
Registered
7,143 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
wow, i thought id get a stronger response than this, thought it was an easy one for you all haha
there was a post on fb about this and it seemed to confuse some ppl, so i thought it would be a fun little game for f17. didnt want to give too many hints (actually felt embarassed to have to play dumb haha)

for those still not sure or want to learn more, here's my assessment:
- the resin was the first thing that caught my eye too, the plasticness and slight colour shift always tickles the "somethings not quite right with this picture" bone
- if the resin seems off then the bezel embossing is usually off and yep, its got a 5 pint blur to it lol