WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am a newbie when it comes to watches and have only started reading about watch specs and so on. All the watches I had were cheap/functional ones but I am really interested in getting my first "high-end/luxury" watch. However, I have only started work and cannot afford the Pateks/Breitlings, was wondering if the watch experts here could give me recommendations of really good swiss made automatic watches (36-40mm) up to £500 (~USD$800)?

I have read up on swiss movements, sapphire covers, automatic/quartz, jewels and there are so many choices! Looked at the hamilton khaki field/king and tissot visodate and found them really beautiful, but maybe the experts here would have a better recommendation :)
Looking for a watch that already comes with a leather strap (so i don't have to buy a separate strap) and is good to go for work and business (so maybe not the more sporty watches;-))

Looking forward to hearing your answers, thank you!

L

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
Tissot, Hamilton, Victorinox, Wenger, Hanowa, Steinhart, Chr.Ward and many more!

·
Registered
9,884 Posts
You are going in the correct direction. You may want to spend some time in the affordables sub-forum since it is directed at exactly what you are looking for. You may want to expand your search at that price point into Japanese movements like the Miyota 9105 since the ETA crackdown makes the budget Swiss movements much more expensive compared to a few years ago.

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
The Swiss made Rotary watches are a lot nicer than Tissot in my opinion. I compared mine side-by-side with a Tissot Le Locle when I purchased it and the guilloché on my Rotary is leagues in front. Plus the case finishing just looks sharper and more defined.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys for the informative posts! Any specific watch models I should look at up to £500 (~USD800)?