WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
808 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for an automatic dress watch in the $500 to $1000 range but am a total novice to watches other than a dozen or so Gruens, Hamiltons, and an Omega inherited from the maternal grandfather. I tend to like watches about 34mm to 40mm at the absolute most, 36mm to 38mm prove the best. I like Hamilton and Longines. Anyone willing to offer a novice advice?

·
Premium Member
73,611 Posts
Have a look at the SARB033/035 watches. They're at the lower end of your price range but IMHO are well worth looking at.

·
Registered
3,812 Posts
Watch Analog watch Watch accessory Fashion accessory Jewellery

I post this one because you said automatic, but I'd prefer the Antea KS, which is manual wind.

Reactions: Surfrider

·
Registered
2,399 Posts
View attachment 1612069

I post this one because you said automatic, but I'd prefer the Antea KS, which is manual wind.
I was thinking the same exact thing, but yes, I'd go for the Antea KS instead, too. It's not very dressy as is, but on a croc, gator, or lizard skin strap, it would work as a dress watch.

Otherwise, I suggest Frederique Constant. Or a Seiko SARB 033 or 035 on leather.

·
Registered
2,537 Posts
Junghans Max Bill. Super classy.

Melbourne Flinders

Reactions: akasnowmaaan

·
Registered
4,155 Posts
1k and slightly above gets you some very nice Longines dress watches and in the size range you are looking for. Hamitlon and Tissot tend to make larger, thicker watches, dont quite have the class of the Longines IMHO.

Watch Analog watch Watch accessory Black Fashion accessory

If

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
Hamiltons are plenty. How about an Accutron Amerigo? Or a Revue Thommen Wallstreet? The Accutron is about 41mm and the Revue Thommen is under that and both are Swiss automatics.

Watch Analog watch Watch accessory Fashion accessory Strap Watch Analog watch Strap Watch accessory Fashion accessory

·
Registered
4,993 Posts