WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All!

I know there are a few people from the good ole' USA on this forum... I'm heading over in a couple of weeks with the family and I want to try and check out some reputable secondhand dealers or vintage stores while I'm there. I'll be in San Francisco, New Orleans, New York and Los Angeles. I'm be on the look out for Omega's, Rolex's and of course PAM's!!!

Also any must visit places to sample the local fair!

I'm not a newbie to the U.S. as I have been numerous times, plus my sister and a quite a few high school friends live there (I'm a former expat kid), but I don't think they have the same appreciation that I have for fine timepieces. So looking for your local expertise.

Any recommendations or advice is much appreciated!

Cheers,

Chet

·
Premium Member
14,493 Posts
Interested to see how this thread goes. I am in the US, but there are not good watch shop options in my area, and I travel to the places you are visiting regularly. Great thread!

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No recommendations at all?

Even for food???

Not having a go - just thought some people out here would want to promote their local areas.

·
Premium Member
14,493 Posts
Hit the tourist areas. The Wharf area in San Francisco (I enjoyed the seafood at Alioto's), The French Quarter in New Orleans (Cafe Du Monde), but make sure you also get some real cajun food somewhere.... in LA there are many options including Hollywood, Rodeo Drive, Venice Beach, etc....New York is an attraction in itself lol, see as much as you can, enjoy a wide variety of food

Depending on when you will be where, you may be able to catch some baseball games. San Francisco, LA, and New York all have major league baseball teams (some have more than one lol). A major league baseball game is a great experience if you can swing it.