WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with watchmaking or repair, but would like to learn. I recently purchased a watch from u/dayummJOHN that he said was working but was not. I took it into a few repair shops and the cost of repair looks to be around what I paid for it.

Can anyone tell me about where to buy a mainspring for this SNZF17 and how difficult it is to repair?

·
1,296 Posts
I would first suggest reading some books such as Fried's The Watch Repairer's Manual to get a good understanding of how a watch works. A mainspring is not hard to replace if one has the knowledge and tools. Do you have any tools? Where are you located?
Samantha

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have some basic stuff that I picked up from Harbor Freight but nothing too fancy. I would rather spend that $80 toward some tools that I can reuse rather than a service for this watch, though.

·
Registered
870 Posts
I may be wrong, but i have it in my head that some Seiko calibre's are not designed to replace just the mainspring, you need a whole barrel assemby. Having said that i have replaced the spring but the barrel lid was very difficult to get off and put back without distorting it.

De Carle 's Practical Watch Repairing is another standard you should read.

Snake

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
I may be wrong, but i have it in my head that some Seiko calibre's are not designed to replace just the mainspring, you need a whole barrel assemby. Having said that i have replaced the spring but the barrel lid was very difficult to get off and put back without distorting it.
Even with a tool that allows you to push it back evenly? Just seems kinda odd that you can't just replace the mainspring when necessary.

·
Registered
3,411 Posts
Maybe if you describe the issue and why it derive to the mainspring.
It could be some thing else.