WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I've been stalking this forum for the past 3/4 of a year while researching various brands for my first watch (eventually settled on a Frederique Constant Worldtimer a month ago! Wrist shots to come when my leather strap arrives from Europelli).

Now that I've obtained my first real mechanical watch, and while I still and will always love my watch, my interest have shifted to researching for my next watch. I guess I've really fallen for the horological world (it helps that I work as a casual at a jewellery store selling brands such as Breitling and Baume and Mercier).

I have been interested in the idea of purchasing pre-owned watch. I'm not really too fussed about new watches since any properly serviced watches, however old, is likely to be just as good and more kind to my wallet. Are there any tips or any sites dedicated to the art of pre-owned watch hunting?

It's a shame that I live in Melbourne, Australia where watches aren't as big of a thing over here. If there're any Aussie WISs that could chip in on this topic, I'd be really grateful too.

Pleased to meet you all!

·
Registered
3,109 Posts
1) Buy the seller, THEN the watch. Make sure you trust them, see they have enough online reputation that they've been legit for a while, see if they clearly communicate terms and conditions, have great descriptions, sharp high-res pictures, are responsive online, etcetera. I've bought two watches from the same used vendor before, mostly because he had SO many sales online and was so free with information and providing answers.