WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

I’m a total watch collecting newbie here, and this is my first attempt at a watch review, so all of you more experienced guys please bear that in mind. I hope this information will be helpful to both my fellow newbies and the more experienced collectors as well. Since I’ve joined this forum, you guys have completely changed my taste in watches, and I’m better off for it. I have a much better understanding of watches than I had before, and a wider range of watches that I like. I now have many watches on my wish list, and I had not heard of one of them before joining this forum. I have found the wealth of knowledge on this forum to be invaluable, and hope that I can make a small contribution to it with this review.

I first found this forum while doing research for a watch purchase. I lurked for about six months before joining, but I’ve spent some time reading on these forums almost every day since I discovered them. When I first joined, I was only interested in quartz watches. I couldn’t imagine why anyone would want a mechanical watch, with their higher cost, lower accuracy, and usually fewer complications. But the more time I spent on the forums, the more interested I became in mechanical watches. I just had to see what all the fuss was about, so I tried one, the Seiko SRP005. It was a great watch for the money, the sweeping seconds hand, the quality and craftsmanship of a small little machine on my wrist… I was hooked. I seemed to longer have much interest in quartz watches at all.