WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

as I am new to WUS first of all hello to everyone and thanks to everyone on this forum for all the reviews and detailed information which helped me a lot.
I am can call myself proud owner of my first watch worth being mentioned.
I had read a fair bit, among others on WUS, before purchasing mine so thanks to everyone, your articles and reviews have been quite helpful. I therefore thought to give something back and write about my watch which, you will have seen it in it in the thread title, is a Tag Heuer Carrera Calibre 1887 (Ref CAR2110.BA0724). There are some reviews out there already but maybe someone finds this review as useful as I found the already existing ones. Please pardon the bad quality of the pics...

THE FINDING PROCESS

I have spent quite some time thinking about buying a watch. Not any watch, a nice watch, a mechanical watch, a swiss watch. During the idea finding process, prices quickly went up, so did my spend disposition. Whether these watches are really worth it? I don’t know. In the end it is a luxury good. Something I buy because it fascinates me, because I want to reward myself, because I had to work hard for it, for a special occasion. Oh and yes, after the “live” comparison you do see a difference between a watch that costs 400,- and one that costs 4.000,- and don’t let your wives tell you otherwise ;)

I will spare you with the details of looking up oh so many different brands and models, reading your threads, articles and watch catalogues. In the end, what helped was going to ADs, Jewelers and small factories and trying them on. Some watches looked better, some worse than on the official web sites, catalogues and pics out there.

THE DECISION

In the end I decided against the Omega Speedmaster Professional and for the TH Carrera Cal.1887, although the Speedy might still be an option for another purchase.