WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 154 Posts

·
Registered
132 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
On one hand, I have a deep and emotional dislike of Rolex. Part of that is because I just don’t consider them to be a good watch for the price, and the terrible experience of trying to get one. So, the usual. To me they also represent the “fashion” side of the watch market (as opposed to craftsmanship and jewelry), making the company today an equivalent to MVMT in my mind (alphaM was kind of right... they both suck). EDIT: didn’t mean any of the crossed-out part, was meant as a joke but upon further inspection it doesn’t sound good. I’m not good with jokes, you don’t have to tell me.

The other part, however, is different. I hate them most fervently because, for some reason, a Submariner is just better than the equivalent Tudor. I think it is better than the GS equivalent, even. I hate myself for thinking that, but I’m not alone. Something about these a Rolex watches, they’re special. They’re perfect without being anywhere near perfect. Their feel, their look-I normally despise Mercedes hands, but on a modern Sub I cannot imagine anything else. Other companies make better alternatives, far better alternatives. But for some reason, a Rolex is just better. They have a certain feel, that I cannot describe. Something special.

This special feeling is unfortunately how my watch purchases are usually made. I search around for the best deal, best specs, best watch. But then, just as I have decided on a tried and true path, I find a listing on eBay, just one of many. For some reason, I look closer. And fall in love. Even if it’s a worse deal, if it’s a converted pocket watch made in Ukraine, I have to get it.

And so, Rolex. I may never get one, not because it’s objectively a worse watch than a myriad of others, but because I just cannot. Even though I hate what the brand represents, the overpricing it does. I truly hate them for it.

·
Registered
560 Posts