WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I know the comparison between the Rolex Submariner & the Explorer 39mm has been talked about a hundred times. My question is much more simple. I wanted to buy a watch for my 40th birthday 2 months ago. But, I've been ridiculously indecisive!! Ive just put too much pressure on myself for wanting this next watch to be my last one. I only want one watch (except for my ironman for running) and both Rolex watches would suit my needs just fine. I was just hoping to get a little feedback from everyone here as to which one fit better on my wrist. They're both beautiful and they both 'speak to me'. But, is the Sub a little big or the Explorer a little small? I've been wearing the same Movado 36mm sports watch for 10 years now. So, maybe I'm just used to a small watch.
Also, does it bother anyone else when the lugs don't rap perfectly around the wrist so that there's no gap between the watch and the wrist?

I know my questions are purely personal preference. But, I think your feedback would be very helpful.
Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
2,748 Posts
If just having 1 watch, then its the sub for me. 40mm looks to be your limit though, wouldn't go larger.

·
Premium Member
5,692 Posts
I'm biased as well, Explorer I

Also, I think the Explorer fits your wrist better.

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
I prefer the no date Sub. But I think the Expolorer looks better on your wrist. But you can pull both off.

Just go with your gut though, especially if this is going to be one of your last big purchases.

·
Registered
551 Posts
The Explorer fits you perfectly. It is a great 'all occasions' watch, possibly better than the Sub. Also, possibly more rare than a Sub as far as seeing Rolex 'in the wild'.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
This is probably going to be a tough one because both watches have their strong cult following!