WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 195 Posts

·
Registered
3,607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been running since 1978. For you Timex fans, that was before the advent of the Ironman. The next breakthrough was the heart monitor then GPS. I remember running with a Timex box strapped to my arm that functioned as a GPS. In short, it sucked.

Garmin changed the game, Suunto jumped in and other companies came and went. Timex never caught up. I used to love Suunto but the Fenix grinds it into the dirt. The simple Apple Watch will meet almost all runners needs.

Casio has a high bar to clear and they did. Before I took the watch out for a run, I went with my youngest daughter for a two mile walk. That gave me plenty of time to tinker with the watch. It is not like anything else on the market and the instructions are non-existent. I can not recommend this enough. Better you screw up a walk that doesn’t count than a run that does. If you are a walker, write one off.

The more I tinkered with the watch, the more I became aware that it had all of the features I needed. Take the time to set the face of the watch so when you are exercising it has the data that is important to you. Read all of the selections since they are all similar. I changed them after my first run. For example, I prefer total distance over lap distance.

The watch performed like a champ. The screen is a little hard to read and I wish you could have 5 fields of data instead of 4 but it is easy changing screens. I did not set vibration so I missed every mile split but that was easily remedied when I was done. After wearing the watch for a while you don’t notice the size or heft.

Besides visibility issues and having not yet figured to delete messages, I am happy with the watch. If you factor in durability and solar charging, the watch is worth the price. Ask any runner who had ever taken a spill, particularly on trails. On my wish list I wish it synced with the Nike app. Overall, I am impressed.