WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
595 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello-
I'm new to the dive forum but now brand new to WUS. I have a question about these Marathon watches i think you guys could clear up for me.

Can someone please explai what all these diferent _SAR acronyms mean?

Of course I already know tha SAR is search and rescue, but what are all these types of SARS? what makes them different from on another. your input is welcome.

thanks, Leo

·
Registered
1,129 Posts
GSAR - Government SAR - automatic ETA 2824, tritium
JSAR - Jumbo SAR - BIG A** quartz, Superluminova
TSAR - Tritium SAR - quartz, tritium
DSAR - Dive SAR - automatic ETA 2824, Luminova
CSAR - Chrono SAR - automatic 7750, tritium

SAR - Search and Rescue

If I remember correctly.

·
Registered
2,183 Posts
GSAR - Government SAR - automatic ETA 2824, tritium
JSAR - Jumbo SAR - BIG A** quartz, Superluminova
TSAR - Tritium SAR - quartz, tritium
DSAR - Dive SAR - automatic ETA 2824, Luminova
CSAR - Chrono SAR - automatic 7750, tritium

SAR - Search and Rescue

If I remember correctly.
+1 with pic

SAR and TSAR

·
Registered
2,237 Posts
Here's a picture of the SAR-D on a Gasbones strap. Note that this isone of themismarked dials - it shows that the lume is tritium when its not.

·
Registered
3,406 Posts
One small clarification; the DSAR was basically the traditional SAR, but with a mistake on the dial that indicated "H3" and the tritium symbol when in fact the dial and hands have more traditional lume. They were a one-off run of "mistakes" that make them a bit more unique.:p

·
Registered
4,480 Posts
I used to own a SAR-D, and if memory serves me correctly, doesn't the "D" stand for "defect"; as in the incorrect dial as mentioned above. :)

·
Registered
3,406 Posts
I used to own a SAR-D, and if memory serves me correctly, doesn't the "D" stand for "defect"; as in the incorrect dial as mentioned above. :)