WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an Omega Seamaster 300 I bought new in 1969. It runs fine, but the hands and dial markings are pitted, and it even looks like a fungus is growing on the phosphorescent dial markings. (What is that?) Also, the bezel is scrached, chipped, and faded.
Anyone know how much I should expect to pay to recondition this watch, restoring it to its original appearance?
Is there a good mail order repair center I can trust and which would be reasonably inexpensive?
--The Old Major
P.S. How times have changed! This watch cost me about $250 brand-new in 1969. Today, a comparable Seamaster would cost about $3,000, would it not?

·
Registered
512 Posts
Just this afternoon I got my 63 Omega SM 300 back from Nesbits in Seattle. The total charge was $875 which did not include a bezel or dial.

Figure probably another couple hundred for those items.

I'm too happy and will post some photos tomorrow.

Nesbits does a great job and is an authorized Omega service center.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. I live in the Seattle area. I'll check it out.

Just this afternoon I got my 63 Omega SM 300 back from Nesbits in Seattle. The total charge was $875 which did not include a bezel or dial.

Figure probably another couple hundred for those items.

I'm too happy and will post some photos tomorrow.

Nesbits does a great job and is an authorized Omega service center.

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
welcome to the forum
does yours have the date feature?
is it on a bracelet or band?
any pictures?
by the way you could get a case if yours is really beat up, they are not that much, non date dials are available also, then hold onto the original items

·
Registered
7,704 Posts