WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks,

I got a Seamaster 300m in July from a local watch dealer. I paid about $4k for it. I go back and forth on whether I like it or not. The same dealer now has a Tudor Pelagos for about $3800.

I feel like if I went back and tried to trade the Seamaster for the Pelagos, they will probably say yes. I see the used Seamasters for about $4200 on there now. It is a full set and looks brand new.

Would that be a good trade to make? I've also not owned any titanium watches. What is that like? Also, my biggest gripe about the Seamaster is the dang bracelet!!! I love the face of the watch, the technology behind it but can't stand the bracelet. Am I better off with going with a different bracelet? I've heard that Omega rubber straps are sort of hard to find, are there any metal bracelets that are OEM that don't look so 90s???

Pics for detail and attention. They are not mine, just got them off google but these are the watches.

718Rr7q14eL._AC_UL1500_.jpg
Omega-Seamaster-Diver-300M-SMP-Baselworld-2018-5.jpg

·
Registered
154 Posts
I don’t think any dealer would trade those two 1-for-1 so if you traded the seamaster you’re likely looking at seamaster+cash for the tudor.

If you really want to swap 1-for-1 you’re better off selling the seamaster in a private sale and buying the tudor outright.

I agree with you on the bracelet- just couldn’t ever get it to feel right on my wrist so off went the seamaster. Owned a blue pelagos for almost a year now and dont really miss the seamaster that much.

·
Registered
351 Posts
I would go with the Seamaster personally. If the Pelagos came in a smaller/thinner case I would definitely consider it as I really like the dial design with the square indices and snowflake hour hand.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #4