WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an American in Germany looking for a replacement for my L.L. Bean field watch. I like smaller and simple watches preferably about 38mm-40mm. I'm a wildlife biologist by profession so it'll need to be a bit rugged. It appears that a lot of the watches available in America are more expensive here and having them sent out from an American retailer means paying import tax in addition to shipping. I'm open to any and all words of wisdom from you watch enthusiasts out there! Perhaps there are some European manufactured watches that fit the bill? With two young children I'm afraid my budget is very tight.

Apologies if I've run afoul of any forum etiquette.

·
Registered
1,443 Posts
Plenty of choices within that budget. Obviously Seiko 5 has a bunch of field watch style watches. Snk807 for example. citizen also has some eco-drive models that fit the bill (BM8180-03E comes to mind).

If you want to go German, have a look at the offers from Junkers, Zeppelin, Laco, and Dugena to name a few. Especially the quartz pieces should fit within your budget.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,230 Posts
Classic, akin to your LLBean watch, might include Victorinox.

·
Registered
5,360 Posts
Laco doesn't make a quartz fleiger/field style watch under 42mm. And they start well above $200, even in quartz.

Victorinox doesn't play in that price or size category, either. Wenger has some pieces in that price range, but not in that small a size.

In addition to the above Boldr, Citizen makes a smaller, solar field watch similar to LL Bean as part of their Chandler line. I believe you can get them from Citizen for around $150 and I've seen them on sites like Jomashop for under $100.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Gentlemen, thank you for the ideas. Some of these watches match what I am looking for. Your help is greatly appreciated.