WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening all, pretty new to this forum, i am looking to get an additional watch to give some wrist time to, i dont have anything fancy and i am by no means a collector , although if i had more money i would certainly have some nice timepieces, anyway i have been wearing my 6309-7049 for the last 25 yrs on and off (mostly on) only really wore a dress watch when i had a job that was more appropriate for one, anyway i love , love this watch and have recently fell for the 6119-6400 Seiko esp in orange but it looks great in brown /black too
can anyone point me in the right direction? seen them on e bay but am not about to buy one fr Thailand or somewhere like that, so i hoped you guys could help, thanks

·
Registered
18,169 Posts
Seiko 5s are usually worn to death then replaced. In low cost labor markets they are sometimes given extended lives. Since they were never sold in any number in Eastern Europe that means they are 'extended' in Asia.

If you do not want to tap into these markets via eBay I suspect your only alternative is the occasional low usage survivor in Japan itself. Yahoo Japan seems to be an active market. There may be others.

Good luck and welcome!

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
I have a Seiko 5..6119, that I just wrote a post about. My good fortune was that although it was losing 20 minutes every 2 hours or so...it was fixable. My watchmaker, for some reason charges me 3 times under market prices for any and all repairs. So you could say, I was paying in a "low cost labor market". Mind you I am not complaining. Now it is, as I said...working like a dream. The thing I want to know is..what is it you ( Eeeb) consider "past the point of no return"? My guess would be..when my watchmaker says "No Go".
Also curious what the numbers 6119.8083 stand for... also the on3941. I assume they are date and model #s.