WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
Bulova 96C142, Casio LCW-M100TSE-1A2ER
192 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for an engagement gift for me, and I've decided to get a watch :-d.

Some background - I've been wearing a Seiko 5 (7S26) for the last 9 years, and before that I had a few comparable citizen watches (day/date display waterproof, metal strap) and an assortment of digital Casio watches. I also own a citizen eco-drive that has been running on its original battery for 12 years now (I leave it on the windowsill so it gets enough sunlight daily).

I've been dreaming of having a Seiko Spring Drive ever since they came out, but with current prices at €2400 and above, that's just out of my budget. So now looking at options around €1200.

I'm a mechanical engineer so what I really appreciate is a watch's movement. I'm not impressed by brands that slap their name on a run-of-the-mill quartz movement and charge a premium because of branding. I would much prefer the money to go into complications and features.

If I had to make a list of what I'm looking for, this would be it:

Power source
- automatic, kinetic, spring drive, any new more exotic developments etc. As long as it will run theoretically forever without maintenance (in other words, pretty much anything except watches that run on a non-rechargeable battery)

Strap: Metal (Titanium and stainless steel are great; Leather and plastic never last longer than two years for me)

Size: Smaller/thinner preferred since I have small wrists.

Appearance: The more complicated the better. For me the ultimate watch is a skeleton where I can see the balance wheel, escapement and mainspring without taking it off my wrist. However this might conflict with the next point - I don't know if anyone makes a skeleton with date display?

Features: One or more of the following (the more the better, but I know that at my budget I will probably have to sacrifice something):