WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to Seiko's so go easy . I'm looking for a Seiko divers watch that's ruff and tuff .
This is the specs: Max price of $300.00
Divers model with rubber band
Must be tough enough for diving, hiking, kayaking, hunting, knocks and bumps, anything outdoors .
I like my watches black or mostly black but will look at all .
Accurate. + or - 25 seconds a day won't cut it .
Automatic or Kinetic ? I don't know what the difference is . Please explain .
Thanks for the help .

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
I'll keep it simple:

Automatic = Movement winds a spring that runs the watch.

Kinetic = Movement charges a capacitor/battery that runs the watch.

Suggestions: Seiko SKA371 or an SKA 427...both are kinetics....both are rugged....I have one of each and they are perfect given your description/needs.

They're the same watch but the SKA427 has an ion-plated finish and costs a little more.

SKA371:

SKA427:

·
Registered
137 Posts
the Seiko 5 Sports with a rubber strap is also an option.

Accuracy is somewhat around +15 seconds. It's an automatic watch as described by Trandy.

Watch Analog watch Watch accessory Fashion accessory Jewellery

·
Registered
2,047 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
You want a quartz is my guess. BFK SKA369 is black and meets all of your criteria. It's has good lumes, accurate (quartz), good looks, and it will last for a long time without a battery swap.

·
Registered
319 Posts

·
Registered
4,544 Posts
Why aren't anyone suggesting the Caesar? ;-) to Nick B, it's another kinetic - model number SKA383P1/2. P1 gets you the bracelet and P2 gets you the rubber strap version. Its quartz chronograph version, SNDA13, is also more than adequate for your needs.

EDIT: added some pictures courtesy of the Great 'Net. As usual, if any of these images belong to a fellow member, please inform me and I will remove them/look for other images.

·
Registered
29 Posts