WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to watches so please excuse my newbieness. I was initially only looking for a stainless steel watch with a black dial, but after browsing amazon for a couple of hours, I ran across this watch and I've been obsessed with it ever since. I've seen similar-looking models to it like the SNE039, but I'm leaning towards automatics because of its history and its ability to last longer. I have quite a small wrist (6.5 inch) so I have a feeling this watch will fit me perfectly after looking at wristshots of others with similar-sized wrists.

I want to know what the pros and cons are of this watch because I can't seem to find much info on it. However, I saw this thread as I was browsing:
(can't post links because of 0 posts history, but it's located in the second page of this "Seiko & Citizen" category titled "Sarb033 from Chino quickset date not working")

What is a quickset date? And how common is this problem?
Are there any other problems I should know about this particular model?
How often should I get it serviced?
I live in the US so I'm been made aware of some reputable sellers such as Chino and seiyajapan. Are there any others that I should note?

I feel like I'm asking a lot, but since this will be my first watch, and it being $300+ USD, I feel like I should approach this purchase with strong knowledge before I do make the investment.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
7,134 Posts
There are no "cons". Do not assume an automatic will "last longer" than a quartz watch.
Mechanical watches should be serviced every 5 - 8 years but most people just don't bother because it's expensive, and let them run like that indefinitely.

·
Registered
128 Posts
A quickset date allows you to adjust the date by pulling the crown out and turning it. A lot better then non quickset where you will have to go though AM and PM in the time setting position on the crown.