WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Stopped in my local AD in Guam today to try on a stainless Daytona. They only had the white one in stock and I want black, but I was completely blown away by it... Perfect size, everything about it was just awesome.

I currently own a 114060 as my only watch and was planning on buying either a black dial Daytona, or a steel AP Royal Oak as they are my two grails but now I am sold on the Daytona. I'm also a private pilot and will start racing cars again when I leave the service so the Daytona is the logical fit.

My question is do I sell my Sub and buy a new Daytona at the AD and remain a 1 watch guy? Or should I hold out and buy the Daytona when I leave the military in 2015 and have both?

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hafa Adai!

The 116520 is due for the Ceramic treatment within the next couple of years so I would wait it out.
Oh god lol like I haven't heard that enough lately.

Honestly I don't know how I feel about a ceramic steel Daytona. I think the rose gold one with the brown dial and black bezel is hideous, steel might be a different story though.

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Also with the way the Daytona is priced right now, I don't know if I could ever pay that much for a steel Rolex if/when it gets the ceramic treatment. Just look at the steel Yachtmaster II...

·
Registered
162 Posts
There is no version of the YM2 without a ceramic bezel. I think the daytona will be about 2500 euro more with a ceramic bezel if it comes in a ss version. There is not a TT version yet, so it might take a couple of years before they even might make one. I dont like the ceramic bezel on the daytona, if i would make the switch i would get the steel bezel version before it is too late.

·
Registered
72 Posts