WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to the world of watches and am experiencing a possible issue with my new watch. I’ve only had it for about a month and suddenly there’s a ton of resistance if I try to manually turn my crown. So much so, that I won’t even attempt to force it and just let it be 100% automatic. This is a bummer as it’s Chronometer and It hasn’t gained even a second in the last 6 days. Will I have issues down the road or could I just let it be? I haven’t tried to even mess with the date wheel or anything because it’s running so well. I Don’t want to worsen the problem.

I’ve noticed if i give it a shake, the crown will be able to turn Freely a little bit, before hitting resistance again.

its a Christopher Ward C65 Bronze Ombré. I’d really rather not send it off to the UK for months and if anything, I’d have it repaired locally, if need be.

·
Registered
6,103 Posts
Is it only in the winding position, or is it stuck if you try to change the time or date as well? If it's only when winding, my guess is that if you did continue to apply force, you'd start to feel the rotor spinning as you turn the crown. Unfortunately, not uncommon with SW200s (I had the same issue, also in a CW, that developed when the watch was a little over a year old). Contact CW about a warranty repair. Repair queue is a bit long, mine took about 2 months, but came back good as new (per my timegrapher, a little better than new).

·
Premium Member
68,111 Posts
It sounds like it’s faulty. Get it seen to now. I know it’s a PITA but you don’t want to be leaving the warranty period with a faulty watch.

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #4