WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
246 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a a fairly old Seamaster, and I don't want to start wearing it until I get it fully serviced. It's about 15-20 years old, and has NEVER been serviced. It's a gift from my dad. Because it needs "the works," I'm thinking about just going through Omega, but the watchmaker I go to has done a great job for me so far and has all the proper certifications to work on Omega, Rolexes, et cetera. What do you guys think? Where should I take the watch. Omega boutique, or indie watch guy? And why?

I expect to pay basically double (or maybe 50% more) going through Omega. But I don't mind paying a premium if it's justified.

·
Premium Member
1,484 Posts
What movement/watch reference?

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
If it is the older model with ETA movement and not a Co-axial then I'm sure Your trusted Watchmaker can handle it like a piece of cake... As You've said already, He is Certified to handle Omega...

·
Registered
2,090 Posts
It depends. Do you want a practically new watch (with a 2 year warranty) when its back in your hands? If so, send it to Omega. (Expect pricing to back that up)

If you just want a movement service and a decent job with it, have your watchmaker do it.

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
If you trust your watch guy, have him do it.

Have you trusted your watch guy in the past for similar watches? If so, it'd be no hesitation with me of I were in your shoes.

Ask him in detail what his service includes etc. and compare with what Omega's service includes, and then make a decision if its hard to choose between them.

·
Registered
5,179 Posts
Ask him in detail what his service includes etc. and compare with what Omega's service includes, and then make a decision if its hard to choose between them.