WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
892 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have read from many websites and forums that say 'shaking your automatic watch is safe to do', as long as you don't do it violently. BUT, I would like to know from those Omega experts on this forum: Is it okay (or safe on the METAS movement) to shake the watch after waking up in the morning...or before sleeping...about 60 to 120 times in a back and forth manner (like swinging your arms in a jogging motion) to "prime" the watch for the day (or night)? I found that by gently shaking my watch, it gains a bit of time, sometimes up to +1 second or a bit more.

Thanks for your expertise and knowledge, all!

Kind regards
Louis

·
Registered
908 Posts
I once had a Seiko sumo. The watch would gain 2-3 seconds if I shook it hard enough, not with any impact just a hard shake. The watchmaker explained to me that is likely to happen with a watch that has lower amplitude but I am not an expert and can't explain it beyond that.

·
Registered
892 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I once had a Seiko sumo. The watch would gain 2-3 seconds if I shook it hard enough, not with any impact just a hard shake. The watchmaker explained to me that is likely to happen with a watch that has lower amplitude but I am not an expert and can't explain it beyond that.
Wha??? I was hoping everyone here is an expert. Just kidding. But thanks for your thoughts and sharing it.

Sincerely
Louis

·
Registered
892 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I agree, Archer. But on Mi*enarywat***.com said that by winding an automatic watch, it wears out the stem and gaskets sooner than needed so shaking won’t harm your watch (it’s components) as fast compared to winding.

I like your practicality, Arch

Sincerely
Louis

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
141 Posts