WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellow watchuseek members,

I'm new to the watchuseek forum, as well as to the world of watches in general. To expand my understanding of the on-line watch community, I would like to pose a couple of questions for anyone, veteran watch enthusiast (or ultra-amateur like myself) to answer:

"What do you love/hate about buying watches on-line? What do you think would make the experience easier/more fun?"

Have a nice day!

·
Registered
17,054 Posts
Welcome!

Sounds like a quiz to me. Fair enough:

Love: the price
Hate: the wait

The experience would be move fun if the watch materialised immediately next to me after purchase a la Star Trek

Only more accurate.

·
Registered
96 Posts
I will not buy any watch online ever. I only buy at dealers &/or retailers that sell them. If & when I buy a watch, if its not at dealers or retailers I WILL NOT BUY IT, No questions asked. Why? For me, I want to see the watch in person because pictures only show so much & tell so little, I want to see the workmanship, feel the weight & compare it to another watch I'm also looking at if there is one.

·
Registered
3,851 Posts
I buy just about everything online, other than food, and I'd do that, too, if we had delivery service locally :p I'm new at buying watches online, but the same principles seem to apply: do some research, buy from reputable sellers. For eBay, look at feedback and history, and if anything looks off, I'll pass...for instance, I see some sellers putting "Tuna" into the item description of much cheaper dive watches, just to get more search hits. No thank you.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I like to buy online, for similar reasons to Cybotron in that the lack of sales tax is a big bonus. Also, stuff tends to be cheaper on the internet :D Biggest downside to me is not being able to feel how a watch really looks or feels, and check for any problems it might have.

·
Registered