WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
573 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm going to be in Shanghai for a conference in July and am looking forward buying some watches as souvenirs. My question is twofold.

- What is your favourite Shanghai watch? Vintage or new doesn't matter, nor do you have to actually own it, but pictures would be really helpful.

- Which Shanghai(s) should I buy? I've got a couple vintage Zuanshi watches that I really like, but I'd like to stick to Shanghai branded pieces on this trip. I'm looking to get at least one for myself and maybe a few as souvenirs. The catch is that I'm a grad student and I don't have much of a budget after travel expenses, so please try to recommend the more affordable pieces... to give you an idea of what I mean, 70% of my collection cost $20 CAD or less, while my most expensive watch was only $80.

Thanks is advance!

·
6,158 Posts
I'm not sure what my favorite one is. Let me show all of them, with some comments:

Mil re-issue. Beautiful watch, original looks, nice size (38mm) unless you're used to huge watches

HePing re-edition. Remake of one of the earliest Chinese watches. Good looks, and not unimportant, quite a bargain.

This is also a re-issue, cheap but a bit plain.

Vintage:
The most collectible vintage in my opinion is the A581. Disadvantage is that with no shock protection you must be careful with it. Also the risk of getting a frankenwatch is quite high. And it's a bit small at 34 mm

A good alternative is the 1120. Beautiful movement, still the old logo, and not as wanted as the A581 and 611 (yet). This one I think is my favorite vintage shanghai:

also available in silver colors:

Then there's the newer SS7/7120's, cheap, and available in different funny colors:

Oh, I just discovered I also have a 1523 :roll::-x

And an overview of course :)

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Martin