WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a watch noob, so please go easy on me... I recently decided I wanted to start wearing a watch again (hadn't done so in 20yrs). I was drawn to field style for the simplicity and in general wanted a good, everyday wear kinda watch. I got a Seiko SRPG39 and I really like it! It'll be my everyday watch for regular activities but I realized that if I wear it ALL the time that its going to get trashed. I do a lot of construction/landscaping work at home as well as a lot of automotive mechanic type work on our cars. So, now I'm looking for a beater watch that's more suitable for these sorts of tasks. I was considering something like a G Shock but they're all pretty big and I think instead I want something small and THIN. And, in general I really like field/military watches that are simple and easy to read.

So, what would WUS recommend for my situation?
  • Looking for something small, definitely <40mm but 35-36mm is probably ideal
  • Looking for something thin. Thinner the better but definitely <10mm
  • Agnostic to brand but would prefer something with some pedigree and not just complete garbage
  • Titanium would be preferred due to it's durability and lightness but open to other options
  • Quartz or automatic is fine, no real preference here as the other factors are more important
  • Sapphire crystal would be awesome but that's probably a lot to ask at this price point. Durability here is something though that I think is important as it will see plenty of high wear situations.
  • Do not want a digital watch
  • Prefer a date window - not 100% mandatory but fairly important
  • Perfer 20mm strap so I can interchange with my other watch but not mandatory
  • Budget is ~$100 but in general the cheaper the better! I'd kinda prefer to buy used so I can get more for my $$. I've already seen a couple of the ones listed below on the forums here for around $100.